Kilmoyley (Kerry) 4-12
Monaleen (Limerick) 0-13

Jackie Cahill at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick

HISTORY FOR KILMOYLEY at the Gaelic Grounds this afternoon as the Kerry senior hurling kingpins won a game in the AIB Munster club hurling championship for the very first time.

Kilmoyley, managed by former Clare star Ger ‘Sparrow’ O’Loughlin’s brother Fergie, saw off Limerick representatives Monaleen by 11 points in the provincial intermediate semi-final.

Kerry senior captain Daniel Collins led the charge as Kilmoyley set up a final clash with Dan and Maurice Shanahan’s Lismore in a fortnight.

And Kilmoyley will now aim to go one step further than Kingdom counterparts Ballyduff, who lost Munster intermediate finals in 2011 and 2012.

Collins was superb in attack, landing 1-7 (including 1-3 from play) while also registering three wides.

Collins scored 1-7.

Source: Colm O’Neill/INPHO

There was also a two-goal haul from corner forward Maurice O’Connor – one in each half – as Adrian Royle registered Kilmoyley’s other goal.

Monaleen suffered with the absences of Brian Geary, recently-appointed to the Limerick senior hurling management team, and injured county star Andrew La Touche Cosgrave.


But Kilmoyley were worthy winners nonetheless and after staving off a mini Monaleen fightback in the second half, they pushed on for a comfortable win.

Kilmoyley led by 2-6 to 0-7 at half-time on a bitterly cold afternoon, first half goals from inside forwards Royle and O’Connor boosting their challenge.

Royle struck the opening goal of the game in the fifth minute, pouncing from close range to get the final touch in a goalmouth scramble.

And after Monaleen had enjoyed a profitable spell – with former county senior footballer Ger Collins clipping over a couple of nice points – Kilmoyley had their second goal in the 14th minute, Collins supplying the pass for O’Connor to finish.

Kilmoyley, despite playing against the breeze, were moving well as Monaleen’s cause wasn’t helped by seven first half wides.

Their biggest lead of the half was seven points – 2-5 to 0-4 – before Monaleen cut the interval deficit to five.

The Limerick men were reliant on Mark O’Dwyer’s free-taking to stay in touch, with Collins adding those brace of scores from play.

A run of three points after half-time had Monaleen back in contention but they were rocked back on their heels by a fourth Kilmoyley goal, scored by Collins after a sniping run.

And a fourth goal put the icing on the cake with ten minutes remaining, O’Connor collecting his second to put the seal on a memorable afternoon.

Scorers for Kilmoyley: Daniel Collins 1-7 (0-4f), Maurice O’Connor 2-1, Adrian Royle 1-0, Joseph McGelligott 0-2, Robert Collins & James Godley 0-1 each.

Scorers for Monaleen: Mark O’Dwyer 0-8 (7f), Ger Gollins & Shane Mullane 0-2 each, John Nicholas 0-1.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member


1. Aidan McCabe (c)

2. Seanie Murnane
3. Colman Savage
4. Robert Collins

Click Here:

5. Seán Dowling
6. Tom Murnane
7. Dougie Fitzell

8. Paudie O’Connor
9. James Godley

21. Kieran McCarthy
11. Daniel Collins
12. Sean Maunsell

14. Jordan Brick
15. Adrian Royle
13. Maurice O’Connor


19. Joseph McGelligott for Brick (38).


1. Cian O’Dwyer

4. Darragh Madden
3. Damien Cosgrave
2. Jamie Porter

5. Lorcan Lyons
7. Cian O’Brien
20. Darren Golden

8. Michael Doyle
9. Simon Griffin

10. Shane Mullane
11. Edward Doyle
12. John O’Dwyer

13. Peter Russell (c)
14. Ger Collins
24. Mark O’Dwyer


17. John Nicholas for Doyle (h.t.)
21. Daniel Power for Porter (52)
19. Conor Sherlock for Mullane (53)
18. Diarmaid Lehane for O’Brien (59)

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Mittie B Brack News