New IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions were crowned today at NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam. 

El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru defeated Taiji Ishimori and El Phantasmo in 20:28 to win back the titles. This marks the fourth IWGP Jr. Tag title reign for the Suzuki-gun tandem. 

Ishimori and ELP’s third reign ends after another defeat at the hands of Desperado and Kanemaru. Desperado and Kanemaru defeated Ishimori and ELP to win the 2021 Super Junior Tag League on August 17 in Korakuen Hall. 

The two teams have traded the titles for the better part of a year. Desperado and Kanemaru won the vacant titles last September, then lost them to Ishimori and ELP in January. Desperado and Kanemaru got the belts back in February, then dropped them to SHO and YOH in April. SHO and YOH then lost the titles back to Ishimori and ELP in June. 

While the reign is the fourth for Kanemaru and Desperado as a unit, this marks the sixth total reign for Kanemaru, as he has also held the Junior Tag titles with Taichi and Tsuyoshi Kikuchi.